Pennsylvania Statewide Independent Living Council

A nonprofit, cross-disability, consumer-controlled organization, the mission of the Pennsylvania Statewide Independent Living Council is to use our collective power and legal mandate to develop and secure public policies that ensure civil rights and expand options for all people with disabilities in all aspects of life.

Responsibilities of the PA SILC

-Collaborate with, strengthen and expand the network of Centers for Independent Living (CILs)
-Identify issues important to all individuals with disabilities which need to be addressed at the State and Federal Level
-Obtain input from all stakeholders and develop the State Plan for Independent Living (SPIL)
-Monitor and review the implementation of the SPIL

Upcoming Meetings & Events

« November 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
Full Calendar of Events

Independent Living

Independent living, is a philosophy and a worldwide movement of individuals with disabilities working for equal opportunities, self-determination, and self-respect.  It stems from the fundamental principle that people with disabilities are entitled to the same civil rights, options and control over choices in their own lives as people without disabilities.

MORE ABOUT INDEPENDENT LIVING
STATE PLAN FOR INDEPENDENT LIVING (SPIL)

Centers for Independent Living

Centers for Independent Living (CILs) are consumer‑controlled, community‑based, cross‑disability, nonresidential private nonprofit agencies operated by individuals with disabilities, providing an array of independent living services.

Follow us on Twitter

#MyLifeWithAT2017 FB Photo Contest
1. Post a pic of something you've done that's important to you on our Facebook wall https://t.co/9FFSXpusyt
2. In the caption describe your accomplishment
3. Mention what kind of assistive technology you used
4. Use the hashtag #MyLifeWithAT2017

#MyLifeWithAT2017 FB Photo Contest
1. Post a pic of something you've done that's important to you on our Facebook wall https://t.co/9FFSXpusyt
2. In the caption describe your accomplishment
3. Mention what kind of assistive technology you used
4. Use the hashtag #MyLifeWithAT2017

Made possible by our partners @PSU_CollegeOfEd @pennstatehhd @penn_state & @PADeptofEd, Bureau of Special Ed's @pattanupdates, our Summer Academy helps students who are #blind/visually impaired prepare for success in college and employment! #AccessEqualsSuccess

OVR on Twitter

”Are you a college student looking for a rewarding summer #job? Consider applying to be a resident assistant at our '18 Summer Academy for Stude...

twitter.com

LOAD MORE TWEETS

Follow us on Facebook

APRIL is holding its last Youth Topical Training Call of the 2017 year.
Join Us!

Strengthening Youth Involvement in Your CIL
December 6th, 2017 3:00-4:00pm EST (2:00pm CST, 1:00pm MST, 12:00pm PST)
Presenter: Grant Heffelfinger
$25 Per Site

December 6th Registration Form Click Here

Description:
Having trouble keeping youth involved in your CIL programming? Are you struggling to keep the youths’ attention? This session will equip you with strategies to hosting a youth-friendly environment/event at your CIL. Attendees will be able to develop the skills needed to naturally include youth with disabilities in programs, services, and issues that are important to the youth. There will be examples of events that have worked well that included youth with disabilities at other CILs. This webinar will help CIL staff get the youth passionate about the issues that affect them!



SAVE THE DATES!

2:00-3:30pm EST (1:00-2:30pm CST, 12:00-1:30pm MST, 11:00am-12:30pm PST)

February 7th, 2018- Sierra Royster and Paula McElwee -Youth Service Making Sense of the FAQ
April 4th, 2018- Dustin Gibson -The Impact of School Suspensions
June 6th, 2018– Zach Garafalo and Melissa Ann Santora Youth at the Table and Active SILC Members
August 1st, 2018- Charlie Walters-Balancing Systems Advocacy Efforts with Self-Advocacy Skill Development in K-12 Education
October 3rd, 2018- Susan Cervellera-Disability History
December 5th, 2018- Grant Heffelfinger-LGBTQ+ Community
Cost:
Member Rates: Annual Rate (registering and paying for all 6 trainings in the series): $180
Per Training Rate: $35

Non-Member Rates: Annual Rate (registering and paying for all 6 trainings in the series): $250
Per Training Rate: $50





Sierra Royster
APRIL
Youth Programs Coordinator
919-567-3602
april-sierra@att.net
www.april-rural.org
... See MoreSee Less

LOAD MORE POSTS